Manage the restrictions of your documents. You have control over who can view, edit pages in the document page tree, and update document metadata like labels or document status.

There are a few different restrictions you can apply to a document. These are:

Restriction

Description

Can view

If set, then the user/group will be able to:

  • View the document in the Document Overview

  • Open the document in the Document Reader and access all the content

  • View all the pages in document in the page tree

Can edit pages

If set, then the user/group will be able to:

  • Edit all the pages of the document 

Can edit metadata

If set, then the user/group will be able to:

  • Edit the document title from the details view in the Document Overview

  • Edit the document summary from the details view in the Document Overview

  • Edit document labels from the details view in the Document Overview

  • Update the document status in the Document Reader

If any user or group is permitted to view a document, they are able to add new pages to the document as well.

To prevent a user or group from adding pages to documents, revoke the Add page permission.

Manage Restriction of the Working and all Saved Versions of the Document

Navigate to the Document Manager

  • From the Document Library, click the actions menu ••• on a document and select Manage.

Or

  • From a page in a document, click Document toolbox and select Manage.

Navigate to restrictions

  1. Click Versions in the space sidebar.

  2. For the version you want to update, click ••• in the Actions column and click Manage restrictions. A dialog will open up.

Select restrictions

  • Select the restrictions you want to apply to groups or individuals. You can choose a combination of these options to manage restrictions of your documents.

Restrict a Document to Specific Users or Groups

You can keep certain individuals or groups from modifying a document.

  1. Start by revoking permissions for 'Everyone' by deselecting the corresponding checkboxes in the restrictions dropdown.

  2. Use the user picker to add specific users or groups.

  3. Assign restrictions the user or group-specific restrictions by selecting the corresponding checkboxes in the restrictions dropdown.

  4. You can do this by deselecting the corresponding checkboxes in the restrictions dropdown.

  5. When your settings are ready, click Save.