Set a version to be read-only using restrictions.

There are two ways to make a document read-only. You can either make them read-only when you create a new version or you can do it afterward using the Document Manager.

Here: “read-only” means un-authorized users can’t update the metadata of a version, like version title and version comment, nor will they be able to update the content of the underlying pages.

However, users will still be able to add pages to the version if they have space-level permission to create pages.

Make a Version Read-only While Saving a Version

To make a version read-only while you create it, you’ll set custom restrictions in the New version dialog.

Navigate to the Document Manager

  • From the Document Library, click the actions menu ••• on a document and select Manage.

Or

  • From a page in a document, click Document toolbox and select Manage.

Navigate to new version

  1. Click Versions in the space sidebar.

  2. Click New version. The New version dialog displays.

New version

  1. Optionally, add version information

  2. In Restrictions, select Set custom restrictions:

  3. Click Next.

Set restrictions

  1. On “Everyone”, deselect Can edit pages and Can edit metadata.

  2. Click Save.

The version can now only be edited by you.

Make a Version Read-only After Saving a Version

To make a version read-only after it's been created, you can set edit restrictions using the Document Manager.

Navigate to the Document Manager

  • From the Document Library, click the actions menu ••• on a document and select Manage.

Or

  • From a page in a document, click Document toolbox and select Manage.

Navigate to restrictions

  1. Click Versions in the space sidebar.

  2. For the version you want to restrict, click ••• in the Actions column and select Manage restrictions. The Copy version dialog displays.

Select restrictions

  1. On “Everyone”, deselect Can edit pages and Can edit metadata.

  2. Click Save.