Learn about default version details of the Working Version and define the metadata of any subsequent version when you save a version. Edit all details at any point in time after a version was originally saved.

Default Version Details for a Working Version

When you create a new document, a working version is automatically created with it.

Some version details of the working version are automatically defined when document is created and can only be edited after document creation. The defaults are:

  • Version name: working version

  • Description: (The working version of the document)

  • Status: In progress

Other version details of the working version can be edited after document creation.

  • Prefix: Adds a prefix to all pages of your working version page tree.

Define Version Details for a Saved Version

When you save a version, you can define the version details from the New version dialog.

From the fields in the Basic tab of the dialog you can:

  • Enter a Version Name of your choice. All values and formats are admitted.

  • Optionally, add a Description.

  • Set a workflow Status. You can choose from a set of pre-defined values, including no status.

  • Optionally, use Restrictions to decide who can edit version details, view or edit pages of the version.

New version with empty description

From the fields in the Advanced tab of the dialog, you can optionally set a prefix. The prefix will be added to all pages of your version page tree.

Edit Version Details

You can always update the version details that were added when a version was originally saved. This includes any defaults details that were automatically added to the working version when the document was originally created.

Navigate to version details dialog

  • For the version you want to edit details for, click ••• in the Actions column and click Edit details.

Document manager with open actions menu

Edit version details

  • Optionally, update the following:

    • Version Name of your choice.

    • Optionally, add or edit a Description.

    • Workflow Status.

Edit version details dialog

  • Click Save.